Don’t display last logged-in user at login screen for Windows


The Problem

dontrememberlastusername01
You may have noticed that Windows will remember by default the last logged-in user. This is supposed to be a convenience, but when you have a lot of users sharing computers, it will often add an extra step to have to click Switch User before entering a username and password.

There are two ways to disable this.

Solution #1

dontrememberlastusername06
One way is through the registry. If you hit Windows-R and type regedit you will launch up the registry editor.

dontrememberlastusername02
Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > Software > Microsoft > Windows > CurrentVersion > Policies > System

Double-click dontdisplaylastusername and then change the 0 to 1

Solution #2

dontrememberlastusername05
Alternatively, if you want to change it through Group Policy, you can hit Windows-R and type gpedit.msc which will launch up the Group Policy editor.

dontrememberlastusername03
Go to Windows Settings > Security Settings > Local Policies > Security Options

Then double-click Interactive logon: Do not display last user name and change it from Disabled to Enabled

Post-Solution…

dontrememberlastusername04
Then, you should no longer see the last logged-on user at the login screen.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.